garden bruchetta

image

It is no secret that I lack a green thumb. My garden is regularly wilted and I can never figure out whether I’m drenching or dehydrating the plants. This year, I worked hard and managed to successfully grow some flowers, herbs and veggies. It was amazing to have fresh ingredients just outside our door each day!

My boyfriend and I eat a lot of meals with our families and a couple times a week we drift back and forth between our houses. After a busy work day, this was a simple appetizer to prepare and was also a nice salute to the end of summer.

image

The tomatoes, basil, dill and rosemary came straight from the garden and I picked up swiss chard and bread from the Yellowknife Farmer’s Market. The bread, a freshly made cibatta from With Bread, was delicious on it’s own and I had to stop myself from eating the whole loaf before I had even begun prepping.

I chopped and combined my herbs, tomatoes, garlic, balsamic vinegar and oil and put the mixture on top of a bed of swiss chard on each slice of bread. After broiling in the oven for about seven minutes, I popped them on to a serving tray.

The beautiful colour combination and aroma is perfect for a harvest-style dinner party and the fact that the ingredients were homegrown made each bite even better.

image

Leave a Reply

