ginger tea

When it comes to warding off aches and illness I tend embrace natural remedies. This week my sister and I have both been battling ongoing colds and I thought it would be a great chance to try out a new recipe to save my sore throat.

I just picked up Gweneth Paltrow’s cookbook “It’s All Good” and liked the simple recipe for Ginger Tea.

image

Adapted recipe:
Finely chop ginger root and add it to boiling water. I like a lot of punch to my tea so I used about a cup of ginger in 1.5 litres of water. Boil for 5-10 minutes. Your house will smell amazing!
Remove from heat and pour water through a strainer into a heat-safe jug.
Pour in honey to taste – I used about 4 tablespoons.
Chop one lemon in thin slices and add to the ginger water.

Pour. Sip. Enjoy.

imageYou can also make it part of a get-well package for a friend or co-worker. The drink can be reheated throughout the day.

Another great option is to use the ginger water as a steam facial. Pour the boiled ginger water into a bowl and hover your face over it with a towel over your head locking in the steam. This  will help clear out your sinuses and soothe your throat. I’ve tried this a few times and I always feel incredible afterwards.

In “It’s All Good” Paltrow also mentions that this is a great summer drink. Just let it cool and serve over ice. I can’t wait for the weather to warm up so I can try it!

image

Leave a Reply

