lavender champagne

imageThis week I’ll be starting a new job and couldn’t be more excited! To celebrate, I made some lavender champagne.

This involved making lavender simple syrup and put 1/2 tablespoon in each glass of champagne. I’ve baked with lavender before and found the taste overpowering but when adding it in syrup form you can taste test it until you have the perfect ratio. I haven’t found lavender available locally, but a friend of mine sent me this beautiful tin from a bakery in Edmonton and I have a dried lavender bouquet from my sister’s wedding.

 
Lavender Simple Syrup:
1 cup sugar
1 cup water1-2 tablespoons lavender
Bring water and sugar to a boil. Once the sugar is nearly all dissolved, add the lavender and boil for 3-5 minutes. Remove from heat, strain out the lavender and let cool.
I
 store my remaining syrup in a airtight glass jar and keep it in the fridge. It can be stored for about a month.

image

Adorn lavender champagne with a sprig of the flower for a sweet touch (or to differentiate from regular champagne). 
image

One thought on “lavender champagne

Leave a Reply

