the tastiest beer bread

IMG_5985I have a love/hate relationship with dough. Somehow, it just never turns out right. Some of my best childhood memories are of afternoons spent in the kitchen with my mum as she rolled out dough for my favourite cinnamon buns. And yet, whenever I try to recreate her recipes the results are disastrous.

Last year a friend passed this beer bread recipe on to me and I was instantly in love. Not only are the ingredients easily found around the house and the preparation simple, but it is the TASTIEST beer bread I’ve ever had. It is a must-try.

Ingredients:
1 can of beer at room temperature
3 cups of flour (must be sifted)
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/4 cup of sugar
1/4 to 1/2 cup of melted butter

Oven at 375

Method:
Sift the flour and combine all dry ingredients. Make a well and pour in the beer, stir till mixed then pour batter into a greased loaf pan.
Grate cheddar cheese and sprinkle over top the mixture. Melt butter over the stove – I love to add herbs like sage and rosemary to the butter as it melts. Pour the melted butter over the mixture. Bake for one hour.
I always put a baking sheet underneath the bread pan as it bakes because the butter often melts over.
Remove from pan and let cool for 15 minutes.

One thought on “the tastiest beer bread

  1. Pingback: gifts for the host | through the cellar doors

Leave a Reply

